Modern Portrait Photography

Cajun Lemon Chicken Pasta Recipe { Rifle, CO Photographer }

This is another one of our favorite recipes. We were first introduced to this meal by my good friend Kim and I had to get the recipe.  What I love to do, as I do with most of my meals, is make a ton and freeze some for later. With this meal I freeze the chicken in the marinade and then all I have to do is cook it and add a few fresh ingredients when I am ready next time. And I’m sorry I don’t have the original source… maybe Kim can remind me!

_DSC4881-Edit copy

Here’s the recipe:

Lemon Cajun Chicken Pasta

Marinade:

½ cup olive oil

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 Tbl Cajun seasoning

Juice of one lemon

2 Tbl minced fresh parsley

2 Tbl brown sugar

2 Tbl soy sauce

2 chicken breasts, sliced

1 lb linguini

2 Tbl olive oil

Zest from 1 lemon

Juice from one lemon

3 green onions, chopped

¼ cup chopped fresh parsley

Salt and pepper freshly ground

½ cup grated parmesan cheese

Combine the marinade ingredients in a bowl and whisk lightly before pouring into a Ziploc plastic bag. Pat chicken dry and toss in with marinade. Refrigerate 3-12 hours. (I freeze extra bags at this point). When ready to cook, preheat skillet over medium heat and pour contents of plastic bag into the skillet. Sauté over medium-high heat until chicken is cooked. Combine juice of one lemon, lemon zest, olive oil, green onions and fresh parsley together in a small bowl. Set aside. While the chicken is sautéing, cook linguine in boiling salted water until done; drain and return to warm pot. Pour lemon juice/olive oil/green onion mixture over pasta and mix lightly. When chicken is finished cooking, add hot pasta to the skillet with the chicken and toss well. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste and toss in parmesan cheese. (We do dairy-free in our house and it still tastes great without the cheese). Serve warm. Give it a try and enjoy!

One response

  1. This dish looks absolutely delicious! I love the idea of freezing extras and use when needed.

    December 13, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

