Modern Portrait Photography

Composition Tip #4: Add Depth { Rifle, CO Photographer }

To create a more interesting photo you need to create depth. Depth is where you have a foreground, middle ground and background. The way I love to do this is to place the subject in the middle of something that way I have some some elements in front and behind them- like I have pictured above with the weeds in the foreground and background. The trick I’ve learned is if a foreground is not naturally there, then you put it there. My clients usually look at me a little weird, wondering why I am carrying weeds in my pocket!

Leave a Reply

