Modern Portrait Photography

DIY Lens Pets

I made a few of these “lens pets” this past week. I had seen pictures of these things online and thought they would be easy to make. The idea behind them are to create something for little kids to look at when getting their photographs taken. They are extremely easy and cheap to make. These are no sew scrunchie pets. I’m not the best sewer. I do have a sewing machine- but I have only got it out of the box a handful of times.

Materials:

a hair scrunchie

felt of different colors

glue (I used a hot glue gun but you could use fabric glue or something else)

optional embellishments: buttons, googly eyes, etc- just be careful that the materials you use don’t have the potential to scratch or mess up your lens

It’s pretty obvious from the photos that all you do is cut shapes out of the felt and glue it to the scrunchie to create something to catch the child’s interest when photographing them. One key thing to remember is before you start gluing and cutting the shapes, make sure you stretch the scrunchie out onto something about the same size of your lens. I used my Sigg water bottle to work on. Buttons or the googly eyes are cute for the eyes- but I just used felt because that’s what I had. The other thing I would be careful of is that if you are going to be using your pop-up flash with these, make sure your lens pet does not cover it.

Give it a try- there are quite a few ideas online. I personally like animals and characters that are easier for children to recognize and connect with. My son loves Elmo- so that was the first one I made. I still have scrunchies so I will be making more later. I am also going to try the other type of lens pet that uses a small stuffed animal and a little sewing. I’ve seen mini lens pets made for a point and shoot camera if that is all you have at home. You can also buy these on Etsy if you don’t have the time to make them.

I will be putting them to test in the future. I definitely think these will be a little more noticeable for kids than my boring black camera.

Leave a Reply

